Skip Navigation Website Accessibility
   


FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $50 in the USA!
SHOP YARNS NOW

Fiberside Chats Natalie Warner



In this Fiberside Chat, Natalie Warner will be joining us via zoom from London to share her approach to knitwear design – particularly surface pattern and tessellations.  Tessellations refer to the geometric plan of the pattern as a whole and this leads to……both texture and colour in knitwear patterns! Natalie will show us how she designs colourwork for knits through a live demonstration of creating tessellations using nothing but a pencil and squared paper.  If you’ve ever wanted to design your own stranded colourwork designs, Natalie’s process shows you one way in which you can do it! We’ll get sneak peeks at upcoming patterns and see the development work behind one of them, the Parquet cowl. This will be a fun Chat that opens our eyes to creating with tessellations! 

Natalie comes from a family involved with tailoring and needlecrafts, started sewing and knitting as a child, and has been making clothes since her early teens. In the decades that have passed, she has built on her family knowledge and formative influences by studying fashion design and pattern cutting and learning on the job, working alongside colleagues trained in textile design, tailoring, theatre costume and bridal couture.  Whilst retraining at the London College of Fashion, Natalie focused on woven pattern cutting and knitwear construction and design.
As a designer, Natalie is often drawn to early to mid-20th century fashion details and aims to create a strong, feminine and classic look that complements the wardrobes of contemporary women, is flattering to wear and easy to style.  The slow process of knitting and the relative lack of time modern people have available for knitting prompts her to design clothing and accessories that strike a balance for those who enjoy the process of making, like a bit of technique to keep themselves stimulated, but do not necessarily want to labour over a project for too long.  Colour, stitch patterning and “resting rows” that allow for breaks in concentration are typical of Natalie’s designs. Design portfolio: https://natalieinstitches.com/my-designs/  Instagram:https://www.instagram.com/natalieinstitches/

This is a one-time live Zoom Event on Saturday, September 25th at 1:00pm Eastern, 12:00pm Central, 11:00am Mountain, 10:00am Pacific and 6:00pm BST.


{{getPrice()}}

{{model.event.first_date}} - {{model.event.last_date}} {{model.event.sections.length}} Sessions {{model.event.sections[0].time}}
{{s.date}} {{s.time}}

Seats available {{model.remainingSeats()}}

{{errorMessage}}

{{waitlist_contact_errorMessage}}

Included Materials


{{c.items[0].title}}

{{c.errorMessage}}

This class cannot be purchased online. Please contact the store for more information.
SHOP HOURS
Monday:       10am - 4pm
Tuesday:      10am - 4pm
Wednesday: 10am - 4pm
Thursday:     10am - 4pm
Friday:          10am - 4pm
Saturday:      10am - 4pm
Sunday:        *Closed
VISIT US